+ Grant Hasselbach +

I recently started working with a professional kitesurfer from Santa Cruz, Grant Hasselbach.  Grant lives in San Diego now, and he recently approached me about shooting some photos of him.  A couple weeks back we met up for our first shoot together at Tamarack Beach in Carlsbad.  Although the weather wasn’t exactly ideal for shooting, we managed to get a few good shots that we were both happy with.  This was my first time shooting kitesurfers, and it was a really cool experience.  Many of the kiteboarders ride strapped to their boards, but Grant rides just a normal surfboard, strapless.  He is extremely talented and makes it look really easy.  I’m pretty excited to get out there and try it for myself.  If you find yourself bored on a stormy day, head down to Tamarack and watch Grant and his friends tear the place up!

Check back later this week for a full rundown of my current camera setup.  I will be going over everything I use on a daily basis to get the job done.  I am extremely happy with the results I am getting with my new Canon 50D, but eventually it will be used strictly as a backup body.  Soon I will be investing in a Canon 5D MkII 🙂

www.kylecannonphotography.com

~ by kylecannonphotography on February 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
