+ B Shot Stories +

I was going through my hard drive today browsing some of my old photos when I came across a few that caught my eye.  I figured I would post a few and tell a little bit about each of the photos.  These are all photos that never quite made it to the website…for whatever reason, but they still deserve to be shared.  Enjoy…

This first shot was taken a while back when I first got into digital photography.  One of my favorite subjects when I was shooting film years ago was motocross, naturally.  This is my good friend Shea Smith on his KLX110.  Shea never ceases to amaze me with the things he can do on a mini bike.  He is one of the most naturally talented riders I know, big bike or mini bike.  He rips.  This was the first time I had ever experimented with off camera strobes and I was pretty happy with the results.  This shot was a completely un-edited  JPEG straight from the camera.

This shot just sums up why I love winter time in California so much.  This last winter, we had some of the best surf I have ever seen in San Diego.  We had a constant supply of swell and crisp, offshore mornings.

This shot was taken couple years ago during the Malibu fires.  The horizon was bright orange for a few nights making for some crazy sunsets.  This is a long exposure taken from the cliffs in Carlsbad looking toward Terramar.

This is a shot of Julian Wilson this past winter up in Northern Cal.  The crazy thing about this maneuver is that Julian pulled this perfectly and rode away clean.  It was one of the best maneuvers I have ever seen with my own two eyes.  Julian is an extremely talented surfer and always entertaining to watch.

This is a sunrise shot from this last winter in Oceanside.  It was the most beautiful sunrise I have ever seen in my entire life.  Luckily I had my camera with me and I was able to capture this moment.  This is another reason why I love winters in San Diego.

Here’s another beautiful sunset in Carlsbad.  This was taken while I was living on the Aqua Hedionda Lagoon which was a perfect place to catch the sunsets.  I never really shoot the sunset much anymore, but this night I couldn’t resist.

This shot was taken down in Costa Rica a couple summers ago.  Just beyond that reef is one of my favorite waves.  On the right day you can catch rights and lefts that last forever.  It’s a pretty small town that doesn’t see much tourism.  Its a great place to score good, uncrowded surf.

This last shot was taken down in Del Mar during the San Diego County Fair.  The huge lights used to illuminate the fair rides were projecting out toward the ocean. When I spotted this I decided to try a long exposure to soak up the light over the lagoon.  When I got home to review the photos, I couldn’t believe how they turned out.  No HDR, no Photoshop, no nothing…just a strange coincidence.

www.kylecannonphotography.com

~ by kylecannonphotography on June 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
