+ More B Shot Stories +

Last week I posted a collection of some older photos in my library that were never published on my website or blog.  Every now and then I like to browse through my old photos in search of inspiration, or just to see how my work has progressed over time.  Here are a few more “B Shots” for your viewing pleasure.

This first photo was my first long exposure attempt with a digital SLR.  One of my favorite techniques with film was long exposures of the city at night.  As soon as I purchased my first digital SLR, this was one of the first shots I wanted to try.  I’ve been back to this spot many times since then, but this shot will always remain as one of my favorites.

This shot was taken about 30 minutes before sunrise on a very foggy morning at the Oceanside Pier.  It was a pretty creepy morning.  I couldn’t even see the water from the pier.  I’ve always liked this photo, it gives off an erie feeling.

Mid-summer in San Diego.  On this day I took a trip down to La Jolla to search out some waves.  When I pulled up to this spot, I couldn’t believe how blue the water was.  It was a nice warm day, and  there were some fun shoulder-head high waves coming through all day.

This photo was taken from Point Loma on one of the most beautiful days of the year.  St. Patrick’s Day, 2010.  On this day I took a drive down the coast all the way to Sunset Cliffs looking for surf.  The weather was in the mid 80’s and it was crystal clear.  This is why I love San Diego so much.

This is not necessarily an old photo, but it is still one of my favorites.  This is Adriano de Souza at the Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro last month.  I was amazed by the performance level from all of the competitors, but the surfer who stood out the most to me was Adriano.  He was absolutely KILLING it.  He is such an amazing competitive surfer.

This last photo is another shot taken at the Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro last month.  This is CJ Hobgood with a HUGE turn off the top.  It’s no wonder CJ is a former world champion.  His creative mix of rail and aerial surfing always earns high scores at Lowers.

To see more photos from the Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro, check out my surfing portfolio on my website.

www.kylecannonphotography.com

~ by kylecannonphotography on June 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
