+ Canon T2i First Impressions +

A couple days ago I picked up a new Canon T2i, or 550D depending on what part of the world you live in.  I bought this camera to use as a second camera for video, and maybe some stills on occasion.  These cameras have been extremely popular since they came out a couple months ago and almost everywhere I checked was out of stock.  Finally I managed to track one down and have it shipped my way.  Over the past couple days I had some time to test it out and so far I am very impressed.  It carries an 18 megapixel sensor that is very similar to the one in the 7D.  It shoots full 1080p HD video in 24fps, 30fps, and 60fps in 720P.  It also offers manual exposure control in video mode which is a feature the previous model, the T1i, didn’t have.

I haven’t had the opportunity to shoot many stills with the T2i yet, but this morning I finally had a chance to really test out the video.  The image quality from the video is comparable to the 7D from what I have seen.  The high ISO quality is nowhere near as clear as with the 5D Mark II, but when shot in low ISO, the video quality is amazing!  Many people are worried about the “rolling shutter” issue which is prevalent in many of these cameras, but it hasn’t been an issue for me yet.  From past experience with the 7D and 5D Mark II, I only had rolling shutter problems when I would try to pan extremely fast.

Next week I have some projects that will allow me to really test out the T2i video quality, check back soon for another review where I will go a little more in-depth and also show some samples of still photos.  I’m currently in the process of writing a short review of the tripod head I am using to shoot all of my video, the Manfrotto 501HDV.

www.kylecannonphotography.com

~ by kylecannonphotography on June 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
