+ Canon Rebel T2i Night Video Test +

If you’ve been following my blog recently, you have probably seen some of my videos that were shot on my new Canon Rebel T2i.  First off, let me start by saying I LOVE this camera.  The video quality when matched with one of Canon’s L series lenses is outstanding.  Since I have owned the camera, I have mainly been using it to shoot surfing.  Lately I have been wanting to test it out at night and see how it performs in low light.  One of my favorite subjects  in photography has always been Downtown San Diego at night.  I threw this little time-lapse video together one night last week, and I am fairly impressed with the overall quality considering most of the movie was shot at ISO 3200 and 6400.  When I compare these clips to those shot on a 7D and a 5D MkII, there is definitely more noise with the T2i.  Obviously, if you are someone who shoots video primarily in the dark or with low light, a 5D MkII would be the proper choice for you, or even the 7D.  But with a $700 price tag (body only) the T2i should not be overlooked.  Match this camera with an ultra fast, prime lens and you are capable of capturing some great clips in low light.

I would be very interested to see how the new Canon 60D performs in these situations.  I wonder if it would be worth the extra $400 on top of the T2i.  I guess time will tell.  Click here for more info on the new Canon 60D

www.kylecannonphotography.com

~ by kylecannonphotography on September 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “+ Canon Rebel T2i Night Video Test +”

  1. Kyle
    really like your photos and videos.

Leave a Reply

 
