+ Inspiration +

Well since some dude decided to cut the back of my foot open and drill two massive screws through my heel, my entire right leg has been a little confused.  It’s been quite a painful experience to say the least.  I haven’t been able to walk, move around, or do anything else for that matter.. just been taking pain pills and keeping my foot elevated as much as possible.  In a desperate attempt to keep myself from going crazy with boredom I’ve been spending some serious quality time with the couch, my computer, a book, and the television.  I also started doing some design work on my website.. more of that to come in the next few days.  You can check out my progress in the meantime www.kylecannonphotography.com

Often times I find myself scanning through the work of various photographers and cinematographers in search of inspiration.  In this first post I’m going to show some short films I have come across recently that struck me as inspirational for various reasons.  The second part of this post will feature some of the still photographers of various specialties that I’ve been following for a while now.

This first clip is a trailer for a film called Intentio by a young Brazilian filmmaker Loic Wirth.  Impressive.. to say the least.  I can’t wait to see the finished product.  This kid has insane talent and features an all-star cast of surfers.  When I first saw this I was speechless..

[vimeo vimeo.com/23460129]

This second clip isn’t necessarily the work of any specific filmmaker that inspires me, rather the work of the most stylish surfer in the world today.. Craig Anderson.  The footage in this clip (by Quiksilver Aus) is pretty unreal.  The stuff this man can do on a surfboard is pretty incredible.. and he does it with unbelievable style.  I think just about any surfer can aspire to surf like Craig.. but I don’t think it’s humanly possible to replicate his style.

[vimeo vimeo.com/35087511]

These next clips are by a young Australian filmmaker by the name of Riley Blakeway.  This kid has mad talent and a very unique style.  This first clip of Taj Burrow in Fiji has absolutely blown-up with almost a half a million views on Vimeo.  Not only is Taj straight-up killing it in perfect Fijian waves, but the footage and editing is incredibly badass.

[vimeo vimeo.com/32449778]

This second clip by Riley is a trailer for a short film profile on young Aussie pro surfer Thom Pringle which is set to be released shortly.  The cool thing about this film is it was shot entirely on Super 8 without any financial backing..  Im excited to see the finished product.. it should be a pretty cool, rather unique short film.

[vimeo vimeo.com/34929518]

And last but not least.. this is another one of Riley Blakeway’s clips.  This one featuring another one of my favorite surfers to watch, Chippa Wilson.  The guy has incredible style and he’s truly one of the most innovative and technical surfers out there.  A while back Riley did an Analog profile film on Chippa entitled Now.  This clip is pretty badass.. just shows Chippa shredding the ultra-rippable Canggu in Bali..

[vimeo vimeo.com/16191614]

So that’s part one of my inspirational post.. I hope this has motivated you to get out and create.  In this “digital age” we live in, there is so much amazing content on the internet.  I find myself constantly being inspired by the work of this coming generation of photographers and cinematographers.  Check back in the next couple days for the photography version of this post.

~ by kylecannonphotography on January 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
